blog.nutrixen.com

Is Gelatin Gluten Free: The Truth Behind It

With more and more people coming out with gluten intolerance, it’s no wonder why gluten free products are on the rise. And while that may mean removing some things from your diet, there is still a ton of delicious foods and treats that can be eaten by a person with gluten intolerance. If you’re wondering if gelatin is gluten free, keep on reading.

Is gelatin gluten free

Symptoms of Gluten Intolerance

If you have celiac disease, an extreme intolerance to gluten, you would know it. It is easily detectable by medical professionals and those with this illness get treatment right away. However, just because you do not have celiac disease does not mean you can’t have an intolerance to gluten. Some symptoms of gluten intolerance include the following:

  • Diarrhea and constipation after eating anything with traces of gluten.
  • Bloating, or an extremely full stomach after eating gluten products.
  • Abdominal pain.
  • Fatigue.
  • Nausea.
  • Headaches.

Less common symptoms:

  • Joint and muscle pains.
  • Depression.
  • Anxiety.
  • Confusion.
  • Anemia.

Is Gelatin on the ‘Do Not Eat List’ or is Gelatin Gluten Free?

The benefits found in gelatin are extensive, and are found in a ton of everyday candies and jellies, especially the ever popular treat ‘Jello-O’. Gelatin is found in these products regularly because it contains a glue-like property that helps things be able to stick together, like you would find in your favorite jellies or gummy candies. It also dissolves in hot water, making it a staple found in many sauces and soups.

Gelatin is a substance that comes from the collagen of bones from animals. It contains a variety of Amino acids that are essential for a properly-functioning human body. Amino acids coming from gelatin are found in parts of the animals that are not eaten regularly, so you get an added dose of nutrients by tossing them into your diet.

Other Benefits of Gluten

Other benefits of gluten include the following:

  • Improving the overall health of the skin. Thanks to collagen, you can notice less wrinkles and more elasticity all around.
  • Plenty of protein. There is a whopping 2 grams of protein in a 1/2 cup of gelatin.
  • Helps aid in digestion. Gelatin contains glycerin which is essential for a healthy mucosal lining found inside the stomach.
  • Eases joint pain. Collagen and the ease of joint pain go hand in hand, so of course a substance loaded with collagen will help to relieve pressure and pain on aching joints.
  • Controls blood sugar. Glycerin is found in gelatin, which may help to control blood sugar, which is great for those struggling with diabetes.

But is gelatin gluten free? The simple answer is yes. Since they come from animal products and do not contain any wheat, they are suitable for a gluten-free diet.

If you are living a gluten free lifestyle, it seems as though gelatin is safe to eat. However, everyone is different. If you’re looking to boost collagen production in your body you can try one of our many multi-collagen products.

Avatar

Nutrixen

Add comment

Most popular

Most discussed